This Month in Jewish History | Let History Inspire Your Writing

Just looking at the list of June events in Jewish history gave me several ideas I might use someday in my writing.  They included:

  • June 5–Jews of Canada were accorded equal political rights with Christians, 1832.
  • June 8–Jewish insurgent forces captured the fortress of Antonia in Jerusalem, 65. This battle marked the outbreak of the Jewish revolt against Rome.
  • June 13–Pope allows Jews accused by the Inquisition the right to know who their accusers were, 1299.
  • June 16–Massacre of the Jews of Erfurt, Germany, 1221. Formerly observed as a fast day (25 Sivan)
  • June 19–King Louis IX of France decreed that all Jews must wear the distinctive yellow badge, 1269.
  • June 23–Jews were granted permission by Empress Catherine II to settle in Kiev, 1794. The great yeshivot of Slobodka and Telz closed their doors the day after Germany invaded Lithuania, 1941.
  • June 30–Henry Ford retracted and apologized for the publication of the Protocols of the Elders of Zion, 1927.

Question for you: Do any of these events inspire you to write? How has Jewish history affected your writing?

Second question for you: Does anyone know where the photo I’ve included is from? The first person to respond with a correct answer will win a copy of The Doll Shop Downstairs by Yona Zeldis McDonough.

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Month in Jewish History | Let History Inspire Your Writing

  1. I think that Anne Frank: Diary of a Young Girl is one of the reasons I write historical fiction. And also why I explore hard themes. Life feels pretty serious to me. My stories are my way of trying to come to terms with inexplicable events.

    I do appreciate humor, of course. I think it’s essential to making stories of tragedy and pain more bearable. But I have a lot to learn about how to utilize it.

Leave a Reply

