October 2013 | Monthly Writing Prompt

2935082319_c23cb4f8ca_o (2)Here is the October 2013 prompt:

Write a poem about a dream you’ve had. Floating over your town with your deceased grandfather. Re-entering your childhood home to find your parents in the kitchen. Chatting with a long-lost love.

Write whatever comes to you. Feel free to share!

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in Writing Prompts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 2013 | Monthly Writing Prompt

  1. Nancy Churnin says:

    I would like to book a trip back in time to my grandma’s kitchen.
    I would like to call a travel agent for the afternoon we make oatmeal cookies with too many raisins
    and she lets me pull out all her pots and pans
    and bang on them with a spoon while they bake.
    If it doesn’t cost too much extra, I would like to extend my stay
    to when grandpa comes home
    and we squeeze around their tiny, cramped table for dinner
    and when he asks me if this isn’t the best soup I have ever tasted,
    this time I’ll say “Yes, yes, yes!”
    even though it is the same soup grandma makes every night.
    And it will be true.
    It was always true, even if I did not know that then.
    I would like to pack my smart phone, which wasn’t invented yet,
    so I can take hundreds of pictures and record their voices to make an album
    to savor over and over when I return.
    I scour the Travel section, but it never shows me where I want to go.
    It woos me with the future, not the past.
    All I have are words
    to point the way way to my lost Edens.
    There are no shortcuts.
    Extra miles are not honored here.
    I peer around the No Trespassing signs plastered around fragrant gardens
    where grandma laughs and grandpa sings
    joyfully, lustily without the words.
    So close and no closer, say the cherubim
    fiercely swinging flaming swords.

    Nancy Churnin

Leave a Reply

