Elie Wiesel, z”l |1928-2016

I met Elie Wiesel at the 92nd Street Y a few years ago. He gave a talk about the MS St. Louis. Afterward, I stood on line so he could sign my original copy of Dawn (I couldn’t find my copy of Night). I babbled a phrase in Yiddish. He shook my hand. I felt like I was in the presence of greatness, because I was.

The world mourns his loss. Here’s a link to one literary obituary.

Join me in a moment of silence–perhaps the only silence Elie Wiesel would allow.

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Elie Wiesel, z”l |1928-2016

  1. I feel the same way, Barbara.
    And I too sensed I was witnessing a monumental man speak when I attended his Florida State University talk. He connected with me & everyone there, personally & I’m not sure how he did it.
    My husband & I feel amazed that this person, on his path, with his challenges & nightmares, accomplished so much For The Good. He was transformative for many people, especially students.
    Thanks for the literary link, too.

  2. Pearl Saban says:

    Your words, although few, say so much. “I felt like I was in the presence of greatness, because I was.”
    I, too, was in awe of him, met him at least twice and wrote to him at least twice, receiving a handwritten letter in return. A year later, he received the Nobel Peace Prize.
    Such a humble man, who took the ugliness he’d seen in the world and tried to create something beautiful, tried to bring a sense of humanity to countless numbers.
    May he rest in eternal peace, his soul reunited with those of his beloved family members, his cherished Sighet community members and friends, from whom he’d been apart for nearly a lifetime.

  3. Sarah Lamstein says:

    Well said, Barbara.

  4. Joan Sidney says:

    Yes, he was a great man!

    On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 9:22 AM, The Whole Megillah wrote:

    > Barbara Krasner posted: “I met Elie Wiesel at the 92nd Street Y a few > years ago. He gave a talk about the MS St. Louis. Afterward, I stood on > line so he could sign my original copy of Dawn (I couldn’t find my copy of > Night). I babbled a phrase in Yiddish. He shook my hand. I felt” >

Leave a Reply

