Take Your Instincts Seriously | A Success Story

Years alightbulb_ideago when I was director of corporate branding for the fledgling but sizable Lucent Technologies, I learned the value of honoring the inkling of an idea. When I had the flash of an idea, I recognized it and took action. I did the same thing with genealogy. I would wake up and just knew who to call, who to write, how to break through that brick wall.

But this approach didn’t always work with my creative writing. But this week that all changed. This week I saw a post on Trish Hopkinson’s blog about a call for submissions from Silver Birch Press. The call requested “If I” poetry and prose. I thought about a poem I’d written a few years ago, “What If?” In it, I wondered what would have happened in my family if there’d been no Holocaust. I revised it last night and sent it in today. Within an hour, I received an acceptance and it will be posted sometime soon.

What if I hadn’t read Trish’s blog? What if I didn’t already have a poem that just needed some tweaking? What if I just dismissed this opportunity?

When an idea comes to you to send your work to a specific market, take it seriously. Maybe it will work out for you or maybe it won’t. But take the risk. Otherwise you’ll never know.

Question 4u: When has your instinct led you to do something with your creative writing? Tell us about it.

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Take Your Instincts Seriously | A Success Story

  1. Judy says:

    So true! I “collect” my ideas and find they come in useful in many different ways, working themselves into countless projects. Mazal Tov!

  2. Am so sad & glad about this for you, Barbara. “What If…” sounds like a poignant tribute.

    This post has got me thinking.

  3. tlhopkinson says:

    This is such a lovely post! Thanks so much for sharing, thanks for reading my blog, and of course, congratulations!!!

  4. Congratulations! And this is the nature of publishing…we must persevere!

Leave a Reply

