Determining the Level of Your Literary Writing | Literary Submission Strategies

MP900341496[1]One of my poems, “Elegy to Aunt Jo,” was accepted today by Rose Red Review. The editor asked for an updated bio and I took that as an opportunity to use Duotrope, a subscription-based literary (and academic) journal database, to determine just what level my writing is at.

I entered Rose Red Review and saw that its acceptance rate is about 15%. I checked out a few other journals that recently accepted my poetry (in rounded numbers):

Then I checked acceptance rates of publications in which my fiction and creative nonfiction have recently appeared:

Should I realistically conclude that I should aim higher with my fiction and not so high with my poetry? Maybe.

According to Allison K Williams, author of Get Published in Literary Magazines (Coriander Press, 2016), you should submit to three journals a bit above your level, three that are a bit below (the safe choices), and four right where you are.  I think in my next wave of sending work out I may play this by the numbers and see what happens.

Question 4U: What are your strategies for sending your work out?

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Determining the Level of Your Literary Writing | Literary Submission Strategies

  1. Pingback: In the Spirit of Poetry Has Value | September 2016 Report | The Whole Megillah

Leave a Reply

