2017 Year of the Book | Second Quarter Progress Report

I pledged 2017 as the Year of the Book. my year to sell a book manuscript. Now that the second quarter of the year has closed, here is my progress report:

Poetry: My poetry chapbook, Chicken Fat, is available for pre-sale until August 18 from Finishing Line Press. We anticipate October release and I have two book readings lined up in northern and central New Jersey.

Creative Nonfiction: Of the six essays I wrote for my online class from Creative Nonfiction magazine, three relate to my genealogical memoir in progress. I’ll be taking another course in the fall and working on it some more. I also just applied for a 2018 writing residency.

I used Camp Nanowrimo, the July event patterned after the popular November National November Writing Month (Nanowrimo) to draft another narrative nonfiction project for young adults. I have an opportunity next month to work directly with an interested editor for a week.

Picture Books: I just revised two picture book biographies and will take those with me to the National Yiddish Book Center’s Tent Program for Jewish Children’s Literature (one of twenty authors selected to participate) next month. Even though I’m workshopping middle grade (see below), it might be a great place to get some feedback on these two other manuscripts.

Novel in Verse: I will be workshopping my middle-grade work in progress next month in Amherst, MA at the Tent Program. My agent is interested in seeing it. I hope to make any necessary revisions before the end of Labor Day weekend to get it to her. I already have an editor interested.

Fiction: I have a YA Holocaust novella and a YA immigrant novel that await revision and I’d like to use Nanowrimo in November to draft two chapter books of Jewish content, one historical and one contemporary. The Tent Program may also give me the opportunity to learn more about chapter books.

Other projects: I have a middle-grade biography that need revision.  I continue to write books for hire for educational publishers and my university asked me to contribute several short biographies about legendary people of Paterson, New Jersey for a collection it’s publishing, a joint venture of the English and History departments.

Question 4U: How is your Year of the Book coming along? Please share!

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

