Literary Offerings into the World | August 2017 Report

Poetry: 8 submissions (Salt Hill Journal, Zone 3, Washington Square Review, The MacGuffin, Coldnoon, Potomac Review, South 85, Contrary), 1 acceptance (Coldnoon), 1 rejection (South 85).

 


Creative Nonfiction:
 10 submissions (Lunch Ticket, The Smart Set, Rose Red Review, The Capra Review, Lindenwood Review, Lascaux Review, Saranac Review, West Branch, Diagram, The Forge), 1 acceptance (Drexel University’s The Smart Set, a paying market!), 6 rejections (Puritan, Pleiades, American Scholar, West Branch, The Forge, Lascaux Review).

Read my The Smart Set essay, “A Day with Murray,” here.

Fiction: 0 submissions, 0 acceptances, 0 rejections. My two short stories in progress continue to take a backseat for the moment.

Other August 2017 activities: I workshopped a Holocaust-related middle-grade novel in verse at the Jewish Children’s Literature Tent Program at the National Yiddish Book Center in Massachusetts. My  YA biography for Carolyn P. Yoder’s Alumni Retreat at the Highlights Foundation in Pennsylvania has morphed into a YA novel in verse, which my prospective editor, my agent, and I are very excited about. Magical things always happen at Highlights!

Coming up in September!

Cycle 7 begins for The Whole Megillah online fiction students. I’m working on a Holocaust book for hire followed by another one with German content. I’m teaching six courses at one college and one university, ranging from composition to fiction writing to American Ethnic History. I’ll be finishing my draft of the YA biography/novel in verse, writing three articles about 19th-century women for Cobblestone, and writing five biographical entries (two about Jewish personalities) for a volume about Paterson Lives for William Paterson University, where I teach in the both the English and History departments. After the High Holy Days, I will be continuing my work with my poetry mentor on a new chapbook dealing with my experiences in 2011 in the Czech Republic.

The reading period for many lit mags opens this month, so I’d like to carve out some time between teaching and physical therapy to send out some more work. My goal is to have any piece out to at least five places at a time.

 

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in In the Spirit of Poetry Has Value, literary offerings into the world, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Literary Offerings into the World | August 2017 Report

  1. An acceptance and a paying acceptance! Congratulations! That is great news. My story came out in Humpty Dumpty and the illustrations are gorgeous. I’m so happy. No new writing news except that I am doing more and actually sending out an occasional submission. Glad you had a productive retreat. Happy birthday to you, Barbara.

Leave a Reply

