Literary Offerings into the World | September 2017 Report

Poetry: 0 submissions, 0 acceptances, 2 rejections (BOATT, The MacGuffin).

Creative Nonfiction: 4 submissions (Poor Yorick, The Smart Set, Ilanot, Tiferet), 1 acceptance (South 85), 2 rejections (Lunch Ticket, Capra Review). I’ve made three withdrawals because of the essay acceptance. Of the six essays I wrote earlier this year in the personal essay classes at Creative Nonfiction magazine, three have found good homes.

Fiction: 0 submissions, 0 acceptances, 0 rejections.

Other September 2017 activities: I completed the first draft of my YA biography in verse, and my agent has sent out my middle-grade historical novel in verse. I completed Escape from Hitler for a children’s book packager and am now working on Escape from East Berlin for the same packager. I also completed three articles for Cobblestone and five biographies for Paterson Lives. I took a day from my hectic schedule to learn how to deepen my poetry with Priscilla Orr at a workshop given by Tiferet Journal. I’ve reviewed proofs of my upcoming chapbook, Chicken Fat, which is now slated for November publication.

Cycle 7 of The Whole Megillah‘s online Fiction class began.

Coming up in October!

Most notably, my son’s wedding on October 8! I’ll be working with my poetry mentor on generating more poetry, wrapping up my chapbook about the Czech Republic, and finalizing my YA biography in verse. I’ll be also finishing up Escape from East Berlin and I will have another article assignment from Cobblestone and another compiling editor gig from Greenhaven Press. I am presenting “Jewish Remnants of Poland” at Congregation B’nai Israel in Kearny, New Jersey (my hometown) at the end of the month. I’m already looking forward to the long weekend at Thanksgiving.

 

 

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in In the Spirit of Poetry Has Value, literary offerings into the world, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Literary Offerings into the World | September 2017 Report

  1. I hope the wedding was a joyful event. You certainly are being very productive. Congrats on your article assignments and acceptance.

  2. Meryl G Gordon says:

    Mazal tov on your son’s wedding!!

Leave a Reply

