#52snapshots 2022 | Week 51–The Color Wheel

The prompt this week asks us to focus on colors: Choose a color, make a list of objects with that color, choose one object to write about. I choose green–and blue–and wrote a poem that involved another person who shares these colors as favorites and I put us into tension with one another. When he was blue, I was green, and vice versa. I am incredibly drawn to an olive green, which was the color of his car, either Sherwood or April Green.

What this prompt forced me to do was to open up my imaginary box of Crayola or Venus Paradise coloring set of pencils and see the differences in hue, shade, and light. I wish I hadn’t tossed out my color wheel of Benjamin Moore paint choices, because those names are so distinctive. Central Park Green, for instance (which is the color of the room I’m writing in).

What color would you write about?

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in #52snapshots, 52 Snapshots, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to #52snapshots 2022 | Week 51–The Color Wheel

  1. dkzody says:

    Purple, all shades from light to dark, from pale to bright. I own many purple shoes, in all shades and finishes. Purple coats, too. It all worked well when I was teaching at a school whose colors were purple and gold.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.