Year of the Book | Need a Critique Group?

yiddish_writers_basel

A group of Yiddish writers: Bialik, Ben Ami, Sholem Aleichem, Sholem Yankev Abramovich (Mendele) (Source: Benny’s Post Cards)

When I announced 2017 as The Year of the Book, among those The Whole Megillah readers who wanted to participate, two write picture books. I suggested we form a critique group. Within the two weeks, we’ve shared and commented on at least eight books between the three of us.

So I began to wonder whether other readers are also interested in forming “virtual” groups. In particular, perhaps fiction (MG, YA, adult) or creative nonfiction (MG, YA, adult).

Why a critique group? If you’ve never participated in one before, having another set of eyes read your manuscript can give you new insights into your work. Reading someone else’s manuscript helps that author and it helps you. You may become inspired by what someone else wrote or you may see issues you have in your own writing.

Why a Jewish critique group? Because you don’t have to explain why you place your characters at Camp Mishigas, why your characters lament the Holocaust, or why your characters struggle with Jewish identity.

Just comment below and I’ll try to match you up, depending on the response I get.

 

About Barbara Krasner

History writer and award-winning author Barbara Krasner writes Jewish-themed poetry, articles, nonfiction books, and novels for children and adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, year of the book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Year of the Book | Need a Critique Group?

  1. drora says:

    I am interested in participating as someone aspiring to write YA historical fiction. I have experience critiquing online in a general critiquing group and I write reviews of children’s books for Jewish Boo World.

  2. Hi, I am interested in a picture book critique group as well as a YA group in the near future (not yet). Thanks!

  3. Sheila Baslaw says:

    I would love to join a critique group.
    My focus is 7-10 year olds.

  4. I write contemporary YA and personal essays.

  5. Meryl says:

    Anyone interested in a picture book critique group?

  6. Meryl, there are two PB critique groups, I think. I will email you privately about the.
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

